The First Step is Usually the Hardest…

by burnoutqu33n

Image

Name’s Christina, although I think being referred to as “Chrissy Py Superfly” would suffice and be as equally awesome. I am the Social Work Burnout Queen. I used to dread being one of those people who pursued a career and didn’t realize until many years and lots of money (lost) later that they were doing something that they were less than passionate about. The phrase “Me thinks thou dost protest too much” has new meaning for me. I was hell bent on not being one of those people, so much so that I ignored many signs that this shit just wasn’t going to fly from the get go…I’m an optimist, and optimism has landed me square on my ass, having to start over, in a new place, a new home, a new school, and even a new found sense of optimism. Yes, I said it. I’m still as, if not more, optimistic about my future as I was when I started out in social work. You’re probably thinking I should find a new perspective or mindset, one that won’t cost me thousands in student loan debt, or require a cross country move. BUT. Those were the FIRST steps I took to land me where I am now, and if I hadn’t taken them, who knows where the hell I would have ended up. It’s almost like I took my first step, tripped, fell, stayed down a while (because I was enjoying myself so much), and then got back up after a nice long talk with the asphalt. I’m in the midst of the second or third…let’s drop the metaphor, it’s starting to confuse even me. I’m starting over in a new state, new side of the country (West Coast baby!), a new career path, and a new school. Should be interesting…care to join me on the re-education of this social work burnout queen? I’m keeping my eyes open this time! Until next time…

